[DISPLAY_ULTIMATE_SOCIAL_ICONS] Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here

Sharefile – Installation

User and Account Requirements

To use the sync tool:

  • You must be an Employee User on a ShareFile account.
  • You must have Upload and Download permissions on the folder you are syncing to.
  • In order to avoid problems related to duplicate files, ShareFile asks that Sync only be used on accounts with File Versioning enabled.
  • ShareFile highly recommends that users have the Delete permission on folders that are being synced to. Otherwise, deleting to your local Recycle Bin will not impact file storage on the account.
User-added image

Install Sync for Windows

ShareFile Sync for Windows can be downloaded from the Apps section of your ShareFile account. Download and run the installation file.

If your email is associated with more than one ShareFile account, you will be prompted to select the account you wish to link from a list.

User-added image

The default sync location is C:\Users\username\ShareFile. This cannot be changed.

This tool can only sync to a fixed local drive. You will not be able to sync a network or removable drive.

Next, you may select folders you would like to sync. Use the Folder Tree to check the folders you wish to sync, then click the Next button.

User-added image

Note: When selecting folders to sync, a checkmark indicates the folder and its contents will be synced, including subfolders. A filled-in square indicates that only specific subfolders will be sync. These subfolders will appear as if they are on the same level as the parent folder, since you have not synced the rest of that parent folder’s contents.

Selective Sync

To manage which folders from your ShareFile account you wish to sync after installation is complete, right-click the ShareFile Sync icon in your taskbar and click Preferences in the options menu.

User-added image

Under the Synced Folders tab, use the checkboxes to designate which folders to sync. Click Apply to save your changes.

Note: Removing a folder from your list of synced items will move that content to your computer’s Recycle Bin.

User-added image

Available Localization
English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Portuguese, Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese.

Expiration Policy

To modify the default Expiration Policy for files sent with the Windows context menu, right-click the ShareFile Sync icon in your taskbar and click Preferences in the options menu.

Under the Settings tab, use the drop-down menu under Link Options to adjust your settings. You can also choose to “Always link to the latest version of a file”, which is useful when working on an account with the File Versioning feature enabled. Click Apply to save your changes.

User-added image

Roaming Profiles

When a folder that is synchronized by ShareFile Sync is also synced to a Windows roaming profile, the two sync operations can cause conflicts. For this reason, it is recommended that the ShareFile folder not be synchronized to a user’s roaming profile.

For more information on ShareFile Sync and Roaming Profiles, please refer to this article.

 

Configure a Proxy Server

By default, proxy settings configured for Internet Explorer are used for ShareFile app releases. If needed, you can configure the sync tool to work with your proxy setup. Right-click the ShareFile Sync icon in your taskbar and click Preferences in the options menu. Under Settings, click Configure Proxy.

User-added image
  • The proxy configuration can be found at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Citrix\ShareFile\ProxyConfig.
  • If using a 32-bit app on a 64-bit OS, proxy configuration can be found at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wow6432Node\Citrix\ShareFile\ProxyConfig.
  • Local machine location: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Citrix\ShareFile\ProxyConfg

HKCU settings take precedence over HKLM settings.

Notes:

  • If a registry key is not present, the proxy configuration uses the default value. By default, only the UseIESettings key is enabled.
  • For keys with a type of REG_DWORD, the value “0” disables the setting and the value “1” enables the setting.
  • You do not need to create keys with a type of REG_MULTI_SZ if there are no values for them.
  • The ProxyUser and ProxyPwd settings are protected by encryption. You must set them from the Configure Proxy dialog box per user.